stw-on.de » Clausthal-Zellerfeld » Advice » Counselling » Financing Possibilities » Part-time Work » Special Distinctions for International Students

Working during the studies

Especially for international students, it is important to work on the side in order to make a living. Students, who are not from EU- or EEA-countries, though, are only allowed to work up to a limited extent. This is different for the majority of Europeans, the are treated on almost equal terms like German students and have free access to the job market.

To which extent are you allowed to work?

International students, whose home countries are outside EU or EEA, may work 120 full days or 240 half days per year. For this you need no approval of the Employment Agency (Agentur für Arbeit), the German central authority. International non-EU students are not allowed to set up their own business or to work self-employed, however!

If you want to work more than 120 full days or 240 half days, you need a permission of the Employment Agency and the Foreigners’ Registration Office. Whether you will get this permission or not depends on the employment situation at your place of study. In regions with a high unemployment rate you are unlikely to get the chance to work more than 120 days.

Working as graduate or student assistant is an exception: those are allowed to work more than 120 days per year. You have to inform the Foreigners’ Registration Office nonetheless if you want to work as a graduate or student assistant!

Students from the EU and the EEA are treated on almost equal terms like German students and have free access to the job market.

You will find the detailed regulations for international students at the website of the DSW.

stw-on.de » Clausthal-Zellerfeld » Beratung » Sozialberatung » Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten » Jobben » Besonderheiten für internationale Studierende

Besonderheiten für internationale Studierende

Gerade für internationale Studierende ist der Nebenjob wichtig für den Lebensunterhalt. Allerdings können Studierende, die nicht aus EU- oder EWR-Ländern kommen, in Deutschland nur eingeschränkt arbeiten. Anders der Großteil der Europäerinnen und Europäer, sie sind den deutschen Studierenden praktisch gleich gestellt und haben freien Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt.

In welchem Umfang dürfen Sie arbeiten?

Internationale Studierende, die nicht aus der EU oder dem EWR kommen, dürfen 120 volle oder 240 halbe Tage im Jahr arbeiten. Dafür brauchen sie keine Zustimmung der Agentur für Arbeit, der deutschen Zentralbehörde. Allerdings dürfen internationale Studierende, die nicht aus der EU kommen, sich nicht selbstständig machen oder freiberuflich arbeiten!

Wenn Sie mehr als 120 volle oder 240 halbe Tage arbeiten wollen, brauchen Sie die Zustimmung der Agentur für Arbeit und der Ausländerbehörde. Ob Sie diese Zustimmung erhalten, hängt von der Arbeitsmarktlage an Ihrem Studienort ab. In Regionen mit höherer Arbeitslosigkeit werden Sie wenig Chancen haben, mehr als 120 Tage arbeiten zu können.

Eine Ausnahme ist allerdings die Arbeit als wissenschaftliche oder studentische Hilfskraft: Diese kann länger als 120 Tage im Jahr ausgeübt werden. Die Ausländerbehörde muss aber trotzdem informiert werden, wenn Sie als wissenschaftliche oder studentische Hilfskraft arbeiten wollen!

Studierende aus der EU und dem EWR sind praktisch den deutschen Studierenden gleichgestellt und haben freien Zugang zum deutschen Arbeitsmarkt.

Die detaillierten Regelungen für internationale Studierende finden Sie auf der Webseite des DSW.