stw-on.de » Hildesheim » Dining » Mensa Survey Uni Hildesheim 2016

Mensa Survey Uni Hildesheim 2016 – here are the results

At the different university locations, the Student Services conducts regular surveys about the student canteens. We do this in order to find out what our guests like and what we could do even better. Accordingly, we have been working with the market research institute Conomic since 2014.

In April and May 2016, a comprehensive online survey took place at the locations of Hildesheim, Lüneburg, Holzminden and Suderburg. Almost 3,000 students and employees from the four locations followed our call and participated. In a general section we asked some introductory questions about nutrition.

The result that nutrition is quite or respectively very important for 87% of all respondent persons comes as no surprise. It encourages us to continue to set a great store by the quality of our mensas and to test them regularly by means of surveys.

The structure of the different feeding types is rather interesting. At the University of Hildesheim, 52% of the respondents stated stated that they eat vegetarian food consciously from time to time but consume meat regularly, too (flexitarians). Almost one third (29%=) like to eat meat quite often, 15% are vegetarians and 4% vegans.

Apart from the general section there were questions about the time-of-use of  the mensa, the quality of the food, the service and the premises of the respective mensa.

At the University of Hildesheim, 1,232 persons altogether answered these questions. The persons are spread over 4 locations: the Uni Mensa Universitätsplatz (891 respondents), the Bistro Bühler Campus (235 respondents) and the sales vehicle with the locations Domäne Marienburg (83 respondents) and Samelsonplatz (23 respondents).

 

This is a summary of the results for the mensas of the University Hildesheim:

(Table captions: total satisfaction, range of offer, service, organisation and information, location, 1 = very good, 5 = inadequate) As there is a sales vehicle at Samelsonplatz and Domäne Marienburg, the questions about the issue ’location’ were left out here.

In regard to service, the respondents of all locations agree: the helpfulness and the friendliness of the staff, their appearance and their knowledge in regard to the food offer have throughout been rated as good or very good, respectively. Our sales vehicle got especially  good evaluations, as well at the Samelsonplatz as at the Domäne Marienburg.

While the sales vehicle is one step ahead of the mensas in regard to service, the organisation and information is partially expendable: the respondents particularly wish for longer opening hours and improved information about the dish offer. At the location Domäne Marienburg there is an additional desire for shorter waiting times and an improved labelling of the dishes.

At the two mensas, mainly longer opening hours are requested, too, while at the  Bühler Campus the waiting times have also been criticised.

In regard to the offer, the respondents of all locations are fairly unanimous again. They all would like a more varied menu (and salad bar) and a more diversified combination of the dishes. Furthermore, a more appetising look as well as an improved taste of the dishes are very important to them.

The premises have only been rated for the mensas, not for the locations of the sales vehicle. With a grade of 4, the seat offer at the Bühler Campus comes off badly. Apart from that, the high noise level is seen as bothersome by the respondents. The cleanliness, the atmosphere and the room temperature received good assessments, though. The rating at the Uni Mensa looks similar: too few seats lead to a high noise level here and moreover to a less pleasant atmosphere.

After having evaluated the data the task is now to see which measures can be taken to put the criticised points right and to improve our mensas even more. We will report regularly about news and changes and will keep you posted.

stw-on.de » Hildesheim » Essen » Mensa Umfrage Uni Hildesheim 2016

Mensa Umfrage Uni Hildesheim 2016 – Das sind die Ergebnisse

Das Studentenwerk führt regelmäßig an den Mensen der verschiedenen Hochschulstandorte Umfragen durch. Damit wollen wir herausfinden, was unseren Gästen gut gefällt und was noch besser laufen könnte. Seit 2014 arbeiten wir mit dem Marktforschungsinstitut Conomic zusammen.

Im April und Mai 2016 fand an den Standorten Hildesheim, Lüneburg, Holzminden und Suderburg eine umfassende Online-Befragung statt. Fast 3.000 Studierende und Mitarbeiter an den vier Standorten sind unserem Aufruf gefolgt und haben daran teilgenommen.

In einem allgemeinen Teil wurden einleitend einige Fragen zur Ernährung gestellt.
Wenig überraschend ist das Ergebnis, dass 87% aller befragten Personen die Ernährung eher wichtig bis sehr wichtig ist. Das bestätigt uns darin, weiterhin großen Wert auf die Qualität in unseren Mensen zu legen und diese regelmäßig durch Umfragen zu überprüfen.

Interessant ist die Struktur der Ernährungstypen. An der Uni Hildesheim gaben 52% der Befragten an, sich zwar gelegentlich bewusst vegetarisch zu ernähren, aber auch regelmäßig Fleisch zu essen (Flexitarier). Fast ein Drittel (29%) isst gerne und oft Fleisch, 15% ernähren sich vegetarisch und 4% vegan.

Über den allgemeinen Teil hinaus haben wir aber auch spezifische Fragen zu den einzelnen Mensen gestellt, unter anderem zu den Nutzungszeiten, der Qualität des Essens, dem Service und zu den Räumlichkeiten der jeweiligen Mensa.

An der Uni Hildesheim haben diese Fragen insgesamt 1.232 Personen beantwortet. Diese teilen sich auf 4 Standorte auf: die Uni Mensa Universitätsplatz (891 Befragte), das Bistro Bühler Campus (235 Befragte), und den Verkaufswagen mit den Standorten Domäne Marienburg (83 Befragte) und Samelsonplatz (23 Befragte).

Hier eine Übersicht über die Ergebnisse der Mensen der Uni Hildesheim:

Im Punkt „Service“ ist man sich an allen Standorten einig: Die Hilfsbereitschaft und Freundlichkeit der Mitarbeiter, ihr Erscheinungsbild und ihre Kenntnisse über das Speisenangebot wurden durchweg gut bis sehr gut beurteilt. Besonders gute Bewertungen erhielt dabei unser Verkaufswagen sowohl am Samelsonplatz als auch an der Domäne Marienburg.

Was der Verkaufswagen den Mensen im Bereich Service voraus hat, ist bei der Organisation und Information zum Teil noch ausbaufähig: Hier wünschen sich die Befragten vor allem längere Öffnungszeiten und eine bessere Information über das Speisenangebot. Am Standort Domäne Marienburg kommt noch der Wunsch nach kürzeren Wartezeiten und einer besseren Kennzeichnung der Speisen hinzu.
Auch bei den beiden Mensen werden überwiegend längere Öffnungszeiten gewünscht, und am Bühler Campus nachgelagert die zu langen Wartezeiten bemängelt.

Beim Angebot sind sich die Befragten aller Standorte wieder relativ einig. Überall hätten sie gerne mehr Abwechslung im Speiseplan (und an der Salatbar) und bei der Zusammenstellung des Angebots. Zusätzlich sind ihnen ein appetitlicheres Aussehen sowie ein besserer Geschmack der Speisen sehr wichtig.

Die Räumlichkeiten haben wir nur bei unseren Mensen und nicht bei den Standorten des Verkaufswagens bewerten lassen. Nicht gut schneidet mit der Note „ausreichend“ das Sitzplatzangebot beim Bühler Campus ab. Und auch der hohe Geräuschpegel wird von den Befragten als störend empfunden. Gute Bewertungen erhalten aber die Sauberkeit, die Atmosphäre und die Raumtemperatur. Ähnlich sieht die Bewertung bei der Uni Mensa aus: zu wenig Sitzplätze führen auch hier zu einem hohen Geräuschpegel und zusätzlich zu einer weniger angenehmen Atmosphäre.

Nachdem wir die Daten ausgewertet haben, geht es nun daran zu schauen, welche Maßnahmen wir ergreifen können, um die bemängelten Punkte zu beheben und unsere Mensen noch weiter zu verbessern. Über die Neuigkeiten und Veränderungen werden wir regelmäßig berichten und Sie auf dem Laufenden halten.