stw-on.de » Lüneburg » Dining » Mensa Survey 2016

Mensa Survey 2016 – here are the results

At the different university locations, the Student Services conducts regular surveys about the student canteens. We do this in order to find out what our guests like and what we could do even better. Accordingly, we have been working with the market research institute Conomic since 2014.

In April and May 2016, a comprehensive online survey took place at the locations of Hildesheim, Lüneburg, Holzminden and Suderburg. Almost 3,000 students and employees from the four locations followed our call and participated. In a general section we asked some introductory questions about nutrition.

The result that nutrition is quite or respectively very important for 87% of all respondent persons comes as no surprise. It encourages us to continue to set a great store by the quality of our mensas and to test them regularly by means of surveys.

The structure of the different feeding types is rather interesting. At the University of Lüneburg, 47% of the respondents stated that they eat vegetarian food consciously from time to time but consume meat regularly, too (flexitarians). 23% like to eat meat quite often, 15% are vegetarians and 4% vegans.

Apart from the general section there were questions about the time-of-use of  the mensa, the quality of the food, the service and the premises of the respective mensa.

At the University of Lüneburg, 377 persons answered these questions. They are spread across the two locations Mensa Campus (361 respondents) and Mensa Rotes Feld (16 respondents). As the participation at the Mensa Rotes was too low, the results of this mensa could unfortunately not be evaluated and presented here.

 

This is a summary of the results for the Mensa Campus in Lüneburg:

(Table captions: total satisfaction, range of offer, service, organisation and information, location, 1 = very good, 5 = inadequate) (361 persons surveyed)

The Mensa Campus scored extra well in regard to locations. Apart from the noise level (grade 3) the other aspects of cleanliness, space, atmosphere and room temperature achieved good results.

In regard to organisation and information, the opening hours of the mensa and the long waiting times have been criticised. The information about the food offer and the payment system scored well, though..

On the whole, the respondents are satisfied with the service. Partially, they wish for greater knowledge concerning the individual dishes.

In regard to the menu there are suggestions for improvement: the respondents would like a greater variety of the menu (e.g. more vegetarian and vegan dishes) and the salad bar as well as an improvement of the combination, look and taste of dishes.

After having evaluated the data the task is now to see which measures can be taken to put the criticised points right and to improve our mensas even more. We will report regularly about news and changes and will keep you posted.

stw-on.de » Lüneburg » Essen » Mensa Umfrage 2016

Mensa Umfrage 2016 – Das sind die Ergebnisse

Das Studentenwerk führt regelmäßig an den Mensen der verschiedenen Hochschulstandorte Umfragen durch. Damit wollen wir herausfinden, was unseren Gästen gut gefällt und was noch besser laufen könnte. Seit 2014 arbeiten wir mit dem Marktforschungsinstitut Conomic zusammen.

Im April und Mai 2016 fand an den Standorten Hildesheim, Lüneburg, Holzminden und Suderburg eine umfassende Online-Befragung statt. Fast 3.000 Studierende und Mitarbeiter an den vier Standorten sind unserem Aufruf gefolgt und haben daran teilgenommen.

In einem allgemeinen Teil wurden einleitend einige Fragen zur Ernährung gestellt.
Wenig überraschend ist das Ergebnis, dass 87% aller befragten Personen die Ernährung eher wichtig bis sehr wichtig ist. Das bestätigt uns darin, weiterhin großen Wert auf die Qualität in unseren Mensen zu legen und diese regelmäßig durch Umfragen zu überprüfen.

Interessant ist die Struktur der Ernährungstypen. An der Uni Lüneburg gaben 47% der Befragten an, sich zwar gelegentlich bewusst vegetarisch zu ernähren, aber auch regelmäßig Fleisch zu essen (Flexitarier). 23% essen gerne und oft Fleisch, 15% ernähren sich vegetarisch und 4% vegan.

Über den allgemeinen Teil hinaus haben wir aber auch spezifische Fragen zu den einzelnen Mensen gestellt, unter anderem zu den Nutzungszeiten, der Qualität des Essens, dem Service und zu den Räumlichkeiten der jeweiligen Mensa.

An der Uni Lüneburg haben diese Fragen insgesamt 377 Personen beantwortet. Diese teilen sich auf die zwei Standorte Mensa Campus (361 Befragte) und Mensa Rotes Feld (16 Befragte) auf. Wegen der zu geringen Beteiligung an der Mensa Rotes Feld konnten die Ergebnisse dieser Mensa leider nicht ausgewertet und hier dargestellt werden.

Hier eine Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse für die Mensa Campus in Lüneburg:

Besonders gut schneiden bei der Mensa Campus die Räumlichkeiten ab. Abgesehen vom Geräuschpegel (Note 3) bekommen die übrigen Aspekte Sauberkeit, Platz, Atmosphäre und Raumtemperatur gute Bewertungen.

Beim Punkt „Organisation & Information“ werden die Öffnungszeiten der Mensa aber auch zu lange Wartezeiten bemängelt. Die Informationen über das Angebot und das Bezahlsystem schneiden dagegen gut ab.

Auch mit dem Service sind die Befragten insgesamt zufrieden. Teilweise wünschen sie sich eine bessere Kenntnis der Mitarbeiter über die einzelnen Speisen.

Bezüglich des Angebots gibt es Verbesserungsvorschläge: Die Befragten wünschen sich mehr Abwechslung im Speiseplan (z.B. mit mehr veganen und vegetarischen Speisen) und an der Salatbar sowie eine Verbesserung der Zusammenstellung, des Aussehens und des Geschmacks der Speisen.

Nachdem wir die Daten ausgewertet haben, geht es nun daran zu schauen, welche Maßnahmen wir ergreifen können, um die bemängelten Punkte zu beheben und unsere Mensen noch weiter zu verbessern. Über die Neuigkeiten und Veränderungen werden wir regelmäßig berichten und Sie auf dem Laufenden halten.