stw-on.de » About Us » Tasks

Our Tasks

Tasks

Even somebody who has never seen the inside of a university will know that there is (nearly) always a refectory. Still, not even the students themselves are always familiar with the organisation which, amongst other things, runs the refectories – the Student Services  (=Studentenwerk). As the name already suggests, we, the Student Services, work on behalf of the students. Our task is to support students economically, in regard to health, socially and culturally in order to contribute to the success of their studies.
That means: we prepare tasty, inexpensive dishes and snacks for you, create affordable accommodations, rent out and find rooms, run day-care centres, offer social and psychological counselling and initiate and promote cultural activities through our cultural office. The “BAföG-Amt” (student loans office), including the associated consultation and application process within the range of educational grants, also belongs to the Student Services.

Legal Form

The Student Services is neither an institute of the university, nor is it managed by students. In fact, we are an independent organisation under public law. Our tasks are laid down in the „Hochschulgesetz“ (Higher Education Act, concerning the universities of Lower Saxony (NHG)) and in our statutes. These laws also regulate our work as an independent, semi-governmental institute supervised by board of directors and a management board. In these supervisory boards, employees of the universities, representatives of the public, as well as students are involved in controlling the activities of the Student Services. As a modern service company, we regard this close relationship with our “customers” as a huge advantage, as it enables direct feedback and the continual improvement of our services. We are accordingly for everysuggestions from students and members of the university. Just send us an email or give us a call!

Area of responsibility

The area of responsibility of the Student Services OstNiedersachsen covers the entire region of northeastern Lower Saxony. We are looking after students at universities and colleges of higher education in Braunschweig, Buxtehude, Clausthal-Zellerfeld, Hildesheim, Holzminden, Lüneburg, Salzgitter, Suderburg, Wolfenbüttel und Wolfsburg. On the whole, we care for approximately 55,000 students! The Student Services OstNiedersachsen has merged with 57 further members of the governing body „Deutsches Studentenwerk e.V.“, which represents, particularly in regard to on socio-political questions, the interests of about 1.8 million students.

Financing

During immatriculation and before each following semester, all students have to prove that they have paid the semester fee to the university. This sum compounds of a so-called administrative expense which goes to the state, the contribution for the representation of interests of students (AStA: Student Union) and the contribution for the Student Administration, which differs according to the location (see Contribution Statutes).
Similar to insurance liability, this is an obligational contribution. All students are thus united in a kind of mutually supportive society, which ensures a broad range of service for each student through a relatively small contribution. The Student Services achieves the major part of its income, approximately 63%, through own earnings, especially by selling food in the refectories and cafeterias as well as due to rental income (residential accommodations). The county of Lower Saxony county refunds the costs of educational administration (BAföG) and provides financial aid. This sum is calculated on the basis of the number of students enroled and the number of meals sold at the refectories.

stw-on.de » Wir über uns » Aufgaben

Unsere Aufgaben

Aufgaben

Auch wer noch nie eine Hochschule von innen gesehen hat, weiß, dass es dort (fast) immer eine Mensa gibt. Aber selbst Studierenden ist die Einrichtung häufig nicht bekannt, die unter anderem die Mensen betreibt – nämlich das Studentenwerk. Wie der Name schon nahelegt, arbeiten wir, das Studentenwerk, im Dienste der Studierenden. Unsere Aufgabe ist es, sie wirtschaftlich, gesund-heitlich, sozial und kulturell zu fördern und damit zu einem erfolgreichen Studium beizutragen.
Konkret heißt das, dass wir preiswerte und leckere Mahlzeiten und Snacks für Sie zubereiten, günstigen Wohnraum in unseren Wohnanlagen schaffen, Zimmer vermieten und vermitteln, Kindertagesstätten betreiben, soziale und psychologische Beratung anbieten und durch unser Kulturbüro kulturelle Aktivitäten initiieren und fördern. Auch das “BAföG-Amt” und damit die Beratung und Antragsabwicklung im Bereich der Ausbildungsförderung gehören zum Studentenwerk.

Rechtsform

Das Studentenwerk ist weder eine Einrichtung der Hochschule, noch wird es von den Studierenden betrieben. Vielmehr sind wir eine eigenständige Organisation, nämlich eine Anstalt des öffentlichen Rechts. Gesetzlich festgelegt sind unsere Aufgaben im niedersächsischen Hochschulgesetz (NHG) und in unserer Satzung. Dort ist auch geregelt, dass unsere Arbeit als unabhängige “halbstaatliche” Einrichtung durch einen Verwaltungsrat und einen Vorstand beaufsichtigt wird. In diesen Aufsichtsgremien sind MitarbeiterInnen der Hochschulen, VertreterInnen des öffentlichen Lebens und nicht zuletzt auch Studierende beteiligt, um die Tätigkeit des Studentenwerks zu lenken.
Als modernes Dienstleistungsunternehmen sehen wir diese enge Anbindung an unsere “Kundschaft” als großen Vorteil – ermöglicht sie doch die direkte Rückkopplung und eine weitere Verbesserung des Angebots. Wir sind daher auch stets dankbar für Anregungen von Studierenden und Universitätsangehörigen. Schicken Sie uns einfach eine Email oder rufen Sie uns an.

Zuständigkeit

Das Zuständigkeitsgebiet des Studentenwerks OstNiedersachsen erstreckt sich über die ganze Region Ost-Niedersachsen. Betreut werden die Studierenden der Universitäten und Fachhochschulen mit Sitz in Braunschweig, Clausthal-Zellerfeld, Hildesheim, Lüneburg und Wolfenbüttel. Wir unterhalten darüber hinaus Einrichtungen in Buxtehude, Holzminden, Suderburg, Salzgitter und Wolfsburg, so dass insgesamt rund 55.000 Studierende versorgt werden. Das Studentenwerk OstNiedersachsen hat sich mit insgesamt 58 Mitgliedern im Dachverband Deutsches Studentenwerk e.V. zusammengeschlossen, das insbesondere in sozialpolitischen Fragen die Interessen von ca. 1,8 Millionen Studierenden vertritt.

Finanzierung

Alle Studierenden müssen bei der Einschreibung bzw. Rückmeldung nachweisen, dass sie den so genannten Semesterbeitrag an die Hochschule entrichtet haben. Der Betrag teilt sich auf in einen sogenannten Verwaltungskostenbeitrag, der an das Land geht, den Beitrag für die Interessenvertretung der Studierenden (AStA) und den Studentenwerksbeitrag, der für die verschiedenen Standorte unterschiedlich hoch ausfällt. (Siehe Beitragsordnung!)
Ähnlich wie bei der Versicherungspflicht handelt es sich auch hierbei um einen Zwangsbeitrag. Alle Studierenden sind also zu einer Art “Solidargemeinschaft” zusammengeschlossen, um durch relativ geringe Beiträge für jede/n Einzelne/n eine breite Palette von Service-Möglichkeiten für alle zu sichern. Den größten Einnahmeposten, nämlich rund 63%, erzielt das Studentenwerk aber durch eigene Einkünfte, insbesondere durch die Warenerlöse aus Mensen und Cafeterien sowie Mieteinnahmen. Das Land Niedersachsen erstattet die Kosten für Förderungsverwaltung (BAföG) und leistet eine Finanzhilfe, die sich an der Zahl der betreuten Studierenden und der Anzahl der in den Mensen verkauften Essen orientiert.